Above Nav Container

Utility Container

Search Trigger (Container)

Button (Container)

Button (Container)

Mobile Menu Trigger (container)

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Close Trigger (container)



Giddens School is a Washington non-profit, section 501 (c) (3) corporation. A self-perpetuating Board of Trustees governs the school and holds it “in trust” for future generations of students.

Our Board of Trustees is composed of current and alumni parents, alumni, and professionals from the education and business communities. Trustees serve as volunteers and are committed to fulfilling the school's mission and the long-term sustainability of the school. The Head of School is an ex-officio, non-voting, member of the board.

Partnering closely with the Head of School, the board sets long-range policies to fulfill the mission of the school and lead it successfully into the future. The Head of School is the board’s only employee. The Head of School controls all of the operational and educational affairs of the school, administers policies, hires, evaluates and dismisses all school employees, and guides the day-to-day operation of the school.

Selection of trustees is a multi-step process that is led by the board's Governance Committee, which evaluates the professional and personal skills that are needed on the board to best serve the school. Potential trustees must be voted in by a two-thirds majority of the current board. Trustee terms are three-year commitments and trustees may be re-elected for one additional term.

2019-2020 Giddens School Board of Trustees

  • Edward Alvarran
  • Mike Davis
  • Carrie Dulisse
  • Reid Furubayashi '04
  • Jarad Gifford
  • Mizan Howard
  • Viren Kamdar
  • Mary Leyden
  • Dr. Morva McDonald, Head of School
  • Flora McEachern
  • Emily McKenzie
  • Melinda Moss
  • Joel Reiter
  • Alex Samano, Board Chair